10. THE CABIN IN THE WOODS (April 13)

Shot back in 2009, this horror film from Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard is finally coming out after many a studio delay (MGM woes, much like Bond’s). Word is, the thriller flips the genre on its ear, then penetrates said ear without permission or lubrication. I turned off the trailer halfway in, not because it showed me too much, but because I was sold as soon as it took that FROM DUSK TILL DAWN-esque 180 degree turn. THE CABIN IN THE WOODS is opening this year’s SXSW Film Festival. I’ve been waiting a long time for this one.



9. THE HUNGER GAMES (March 23)

This first installment of a trilogy—about a televised fight to the death between randomly-selected teenagers from oppressed districts in a post-apocalyptic North America—has a lot more going on than the unaware, i.e., those who’ll dismiss it as fodder for the Twilight crowd, realize. Everything about the adaptation, from the cast to the costumes, looks spot-on. Director Gary Ross (PLEASANTVILLE) stated that author Suzanne Collins was on board for every step of the production, so I expect a pretty faithful adaptation. I’m only a couple of weeks removed from reading the novel (on book 3 now), so yeah, my excitement for this is somewhat palpable.



8. THE MASTER (release date unknown)

I know next to nothing about this film (It would likely be higher if I did), only that the guy who gave us BOOGIE NIGHTS and THERE WILL BE BLOOD, Paul Thomas Anderson, is making, according to IMDb, “A 1950s-set drama centered on the relationship between a charismatic intellectual known as “the Master,” whose faith-based organization begins to catch on in America, and a young drifter who becomes his right-hand man.” That alone is more than enough for me, but the story also happens to be a full-on allegory for L. Ron Hubbard and Scientology, so expect a serious shitstorm of controversy (and lawsuits from that notoriously litigious cult) upon its release. Can’t wait.


7. MOONRISE KINGDOM (May 25)

I’ve been excited for every Wes Anderson film to date, and this one’s no different. But I’m not gonna lie, for the first bit of the trailer I thought, “This is what it would look like if someone was parodying the director.” By the end, though, I was seduced once again by the off-beat charm of his ultra-quirky universe. MOONRISE KINGDOM, Anderson’s second collaboration with Roman Coppola (they penned the underappreciated THE DARJEELING LIMITED), revolves around a boy scout and a girl who run away together, prompting a local search party, played by a stellar cast including Edward Norton and Bill Murray, to set out and find them. Looks like fun.



6. DJANGO UNCHAINED (Dec. 25)

A new Quentin Tarantino movie = my butt in a seat on opening weekend. The cat just makes movies I love and movies I want to see. DJANGO UNCHAINED, about a former slave who sets out to rescue his wife from a brutal plantation owner, is sure to be graphic and bloody to the point of exploitative, but it will also deliver. If the script (which is floating around online) is any indication, it’s going to make INGLORIOUS BASTERDS look tame by comparison. The eccentric auteur has gathered a killer ensemble for this project, including Leonardo DiCaprio, Sacha Baron Cohen, Christoph Waltz, and Kurt Russell, to name a few. Not much information is available for this one yet, but I’m stoked.


Comments
  1. rwhyan says:

    Some good looking movies in that list for sure! Tarantino can’t disappoint so I would have to say thats probably my number 1. Its up there with Prometheus!

  2. shawntalley says:

    If more was available on Django and The Master, I’m sure they’d have me foaming at the mouth / rank a little higher. As for Prometheus… well, my top 5 will be posted soon.

Thoughts? Criticisms? Hit me with 'em!

