Smile, you son of a bitch!

Posted: April 10, 2012 in Film, Movie News
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Oh, I am.
Universal Studios Home Entertainment is pulling out all the stops for the Blu-ray release of one of my all-time favorite films. They announced today that a suped-up edition of Steven Spielberg’s JAWS, the box office record-shattering summer-blockbuster template, will arrive in high definition this August with an improved picture, expanded sound mix, and a ton of bonus materials. The iconic 1975 film joins a collection of 13 that Universal is digitally restoring and remastering to commemorate the studio’s 100th Anniversary celebration.

Take a look at the extensive frame-by-frame process that went into restoring this unforgettable movie:



I haven’t re-bought too many films on Blu-ray, but this one will definitely be on my DVD shelf come fall. Can’t wait.

Comments
  1. rwhyan says:

    Absolutely amazing, also one of my all time favorite films. I’m pretty sure Indiana Jones is getting a blu-ray release this summer as well!

    • Shawn Talley says:

      Cool. I hope Lucas releases them separately so I can go out of my to NOT buy that last one. I’d love to see ’em packeged with the entire ‘Young Indiana Jones Chronicles’ series, myself.

  2. Don’t hate me, but I’ve actually never seen that movie. Maybe I’ll get the blue-ray and experience it like this for the first time in all of it’s epic glory.

    • Shawn Talley says:

      Right on.
      Hate? Never. Pity, maybe. 🙂
      Not to hype it up, but I think it’s an incredible movie (made so by a bunch of happy accidents, as the bonus docs will surely explain in depth), one that still makes people avoid the ocean nearly 40 years later. JAWS is also one of those rare instances where the movie is actually better than the book.

Thoughts? Criticisms? Hit me with 'em!

