The State of the Talley, Summer 2012

Posted: August 1, 2012 in Comics, Links, Updates

Hey now. It’s been a good while since I’ve checked in, and I’m here to explain a big reason why that is.

I’ve been insanely busy with something lately, something that’s been one of my life’s ambitions/pipe dreams since I can remember: writing comics.

A few folks are already aware of this, but for the many who aren’t, here’s the story. Earlier this year, a group of guys and I launched an independent/small press comic company called Con Artist Entertainment (it’s a double entendre, see? Because we’re also artists who sell our stuff… at cons. Nevermind). The business is in its infancy, but we’re already moving and shaking—making a splash at Florida SuperCon, co-branding with What The Flux Comics, and networking with some of the biggest names in the industry, all without having a single book in print!

Said book(s) will be out soon, though. We have a bunch of great story ideas, several of which are in production, and most of which I’m helping co-plot and/or writing. Our first published issue, Joshua Black, will be available this October at Tampa Bay Comic Con.

This venture has been a second job for me (Alisha will attest that I’ve been burning the candle at both ends lately), but I’m loving every minute of it, and I’m excited as hell to see where this ride takes me and the Con Artist crew. One thing is for sure, though; my name will be on a handful of direct market and digital comics this time next year!

On top of us penning, drawing, and editing several books, fellow Con Artist Martin Dunn and I are also pimping the brand on a weekly podcast called, surprise, The Con Artist Podcast. We’re sixteen episodes in, talking mostly comics, film, and geek stuff, and plugging our upcoming projects and appearances. The show’s still a bit rough, and definitely not for the easily offended, but we’re getting better, and personally, I’m having a blast with it. If you have a few minutes, and you’ve seen THE DARK KNIGHT RISES, check out last week’s spoiler-heavy episode.

I’ve been waiting until we had some real stuff in the works to drop all this info and start the hype machine a rolling. So, here’s where you guys can help. Aside from me being the Editor-In-Chief for this budding business, one of my many duties is running Con Artist Entertainment’s social networkage, and since I’ve never asked my friends and followers for anything, EVER, I have no qualms about asking you to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. It would be much appreciated.

Self-promotion has never been my strong suit, but I thank you for taking the time to read this hefty dose of it. Moving forward, I will be updating and talking about what’s doing with the books, the company, and the like on here and the aforementioned sites. I swear, though, not to be that guy and inundate you with it.

Thanks again. ‘Til next time, true believers…


Some of our upcoming titles:

Comments
  1. Ryan says:

    This sounds awesome man. Wish you the best of luck. Liked on Facebook and Followed on Twitter!

  2. Very cool! Congratulations in what you’ve accomplished so far and good luck!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Very cool……………keeping secrets you are.
    So this what you studied at Full Sail University?

    • Shawn Talley says:

      Anonymous, I can only assume you’re Yoda based on your speech pattern.
      I learned film and video production, but storytelling, no matter the medium, is what I’m about. I want to be a writer, preferably a screenwriter, but this avenue presented itself, and I’m taking the ball and running with it like Forrest Gump right through that marching band.

  4. […] mentioned in a previous post, I co-founded a publishing/production company last year called Con Artist Entertainment.  Our […]

Thoughts? Criticisms? Hit me with 'em!

