Baz Luhrmann’s Jesus?

Posted: January 23, 2013 in Rants
Tags: , , , , , ,

OR: The post where Shawn talked about his dream AND admitted he still watches wrestling.

Dreams are so damn weird. I don’t post or talk about mine often, if ever (and I won’t make a habit of doing so here), but the one I had last night has stuck with me all day, so thought I’d share/put it on the internet forever.

CMPunk1I awoke from one this morning that I can only describe as the story of Jesus Christ, but modernized, Baz Luhrmann’s ROMEO + JULIET-style. The best part is that the role of J.C. was played by WWE wrestler C.M. Punk – black hair, ECW-days Punk. Some details have faded as the hours passed, but I do remember it being modern day, and a strange part involving cats surrounding him a la that Selina Kyle “transformation” scene in BATMAN RETURNS. Toward the end, a mob was throwing things at JC/Punk as he was lying in the street, during which a man in the crowd yelled that they should put him on the “X” (as in the cross… I think). I snapped to right after that, thanks to a noisy garbage truck outside my window.

What the shit, right? The only thing I can think got me to dreaming that was watching the previous week’s episode of Raw yesterday, and hearing Punk tell the Rock something to the effect of, “You’ll realize your arms are too short when you try to box God.” Either way, weird stuff. I’m still not sure what compelled me to blog this, but thanks for indulging me.

Comments
  1. ange says:

    It’s awesome, now seeing The great Gatsby and thinking about Baz must make own version about story of Jesus Christ, making understable the past for the present generation.

Thoughts? Criticisms? Hit me with 'em!

