Argo1

(It makes sense if you see the film)

  So I posted a Facebook note prior to awards season with my predictions on this year’s Oscar nominations, and got pretty darn close. Well, a lot has changed since then, including a big push from a film that got snubbed when it came to directing nominations. Look, I know the Academy Awards are a joke (seriously, they’re supposed to be Hollywood’s highest honor, yet Charlie Chaplin, Orson Welles, Stanley Kubrick, and Alfred-freaking-Hitchcock have a combined total of ZERO Oscars). That said, I still watch… and drunkenly live tweet them. No time for a full blog about it, but here are my ‘big 6’ picks for tonight’s telecast:


BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
Who Got Hosed: Maggie Smith (THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL)
Who Will Win: Anne Hathaway (LES MISERABLES)


BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
Who Got Hosed: Ezra Miller (THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER), Leonardo DiCaprio (DJANGO UNCHAINED)
Who Should Win: Philip Seymour Hoffman (THE MASTER)
Who Will Win: Tommy Lee Jones (LINCOLN)


BEST ACTRESS
Who Got Hosed: Marion Cotillard (RUST AND BONE)
Who Will Win: Jennifer Lawrence (SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK)


BEST ACTOR
Who Got Hosed: Denis Lavant (HOLY MOTORS)
Who Should Win: Joaquin Phoenix (THE MASTER)
Who Will Win: Daniel Day-Lewis (LINCOLN)


BEST DIRECTOR
Who Got Hosed: Ben Affleck (ARGO), Kathryn Bigelow (ZERO DARK THIRTY)
Who Should Win: Kathryn Bigelow (ZERO DARK THIRTY)
Who Will Win: Steven Spielberg (LINCOLN)


BEST PICTURE
What Should Win: ZERO DARK THIRTY
What Will Win: LINCOLN or ARGO
I’m not as sure as I usually am with my Best Picture pick. It’s definitely a two-horse race this year. It really just depends on when the majority of the Academy voted on it.


No time for reasons why I think my picks will win, but if you want to know them, follow me on the Twitter machine @shawntalley. I’ll be one of many a-holes providing 140-character comments on everything throughout the show. Thanks for reading, guys. Til’ next time–

Thoughts? Criticisms? Hit me with 'em!

