Before I wrap up this series of posts, which I thank you guys for following, I wanted to cite a couple of glaring omissions I was reminded of in the last month, two films that definitely would’ve made the cut:

Omission B) MANIAC

This loose remake of the 1980 cult film of the same, directed by Franck Khalfoun, stars Elijah Wood as Frank Zito, a disturbed individual who goes on a killing spree, murdering innocent and young women… and scalping them.



Omission A) MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

What do you do after making one of the biggest films of all time? You shoot a no-budget movie at your house with your close friends, of course. Joss Whedon doing Shakespeare seems so right I wonder why it took so long.




Here is the entire list:

Honorable Mentions
STOKER, KICK-ASS 2, UPSTREAM COLOR, TO THE WONDER,
NYMPHOMANIAC, OZ THE GREAT AND POWERFUL, ELYSIUM

Part 1, #25-20
25) THE WOLF OF WALL STREET (Christmas)
24) THE LORDS OF SALEM (April 26th)
23) THE PLACE BEYOND THE PINES (March 29th)
22) 12 YEARS A SLAVE (unknown)
21) THE COUNSELOR (Nov. 15th)
20) THE GREAT GATSBY (May 10th)

Part 2, #19-14
19) THE HOBBIT: The Desolation of Smaug (Dec. 13th)
18) SIGHTSEERS (unknown)
17) THE HUNGER GAMES: Catching Fire (Nov. 22nd)
16) INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS (unknown)
15) THE SPECTACULAR NOW (Aug. 2nd)
14) ENDER’S GAME (Nov. 1st)

Part 3, #13-8
13) PACIFIC RIM (July 11th)
12) SIN CITY: A Dame To Kill For (Oct. 2nd)
11) THOR: The Dark World (Nov. 8th)
10) ONLY GOD FORGIVES (unknown)
09) TRANCE (April 5th)
08) IRON MAN 3 (May 3rd)

Part 4, #7-2
7) EVIL DEAD (April 5th)
6) ANCHORMAN: The Legend Continues (Dec. 20th)
5) BEFORE MIDNIGHT (May 24th)
4) THE WORLD’S END (Oct. 25th)
3) GRAVITY (Oct. 4th)
2) STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS (May 17th)


And My Most Anticipated Film of 2013 is:






1) MAN OF STEEL (June 14th)

“What? But you don’t even like Superman?”
Well, yes and no. Watch this trailer, then hear me out:

It’s not that I don’t like the big blue boyscout. I just prefer his DC counterpart, Mr. Batman. Give me the tragic brooding hero over the invincible alien superhero all day. This takes the number 1 spot because, plain and simple, I want a good Superman movie, damn it. I want this movie to be great. We need this movie to be great. Warner Bros. is sitting on billions of dollars of DC Comics’ intellectual properties, and they don’t seem to know how to get the ball rolling on a shared film universe (It’s easy, guys. You copy Marvel’s template to the tee). An amazing Superman movie can and will be the thing that jump starts it. I won’t spend a paragraph on how much was wrong with Bryan Singer’s SUPERMAN RETURNS, but I will say that I think a Christopher Nolan story with Zach Snyder action is exactly what this franchise needs. I’m psyched for this one. Don’t let me down, Supes.




Well, that’s that, gang. Thanks so much for indulging me. Til next time,
So long, and thanks for all the fish.

Comments
  1. Maniac looks soooo good! For information on Entertainment/Current News, please feel free to check out and follow my blog: opendialogue4themassess.wordpress.com

Thoughts? Criticisms? Hit me with 'em!

