Need an Ark? I Noah guy.

Posted: March 27, 2014 in Links, Rants, Viral
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Noah Pun Intended.

Alright, I’m done… for now.

It’s 2014, nearly half a millennium since the geocentric Ptolemaic Model was challenged, and I have some good news. It has taken a while, but we’re at a point where a majority of creationists accept that much of the Old Testament, Genesis especially, is parable, fable, folklore, i.e., NOT LITERAL (see: easily-disprovable big ones like the earth was built in 6 days, it’s only 6,000 years old, Adam and Eve, etc.). Many biblical scholars even think the Book of Genesis is a highly-edited, contradictory mishmash of at least three different sources. The story of Noah, as told within said book, is no different. All you have to do is read up a bit (in books that are not the Bible) to know that it, too, is derived from several older Mesopotamian flood myths, like the Epics of Ziusudra, Atrahasis, and Gilgamesh. Sorry, but it’s true. Everything is a remix, right?

I personally find the legend of Noah’s Ark to be utter nonsense, but then, my views are based on horrible affronts to religion, like geology, physics, and evidence (or lack thereof). I don’t mean to start a fight here… but Bill Maher does! I happen to agree with every word of this rant, but if you don’t, this clip will still get your blood up:

I’m rather torn on the film version that opens this weekend. The first couple trailers looked like nothing more than a new Roland Emmerich disaster movie, but this is Darren Aronofsky (BLACK SWAN, REQUIEM FOR A DREAM, THE WRESTLER), so I want to believe it’ll be more than a CGI crap fest. I’ll share my thoughts on it when I do see it, but all I hear in my head right now is David Spade saying, “I liked this film better the first time… when it was called Waterworld!” And don’t get me started on the absurd disclaimer that’s accompanying the film.

Speaking of science, is anyone else watching the new Cosmos with Neil DeGrasse Tyson? That show is McDonald’s, yo!

_________________________________________
Today’s Distractions
Watching: Cosmos: A Space Odyssey, Episode 1: “Standing Up In The Milky Way”
Reading: “Haunted” — Chuck Palahniuk

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    I love you Shawn, and as you know I have different views than you. But, you are an excellent writer!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Also, the movie does not follow the Bible. It is mainly fiction with a few facts.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Also, I am not anonymous . . . I am your Aunt Kay!

Thoughts? Criticisms? Hit me with 'em!

