Random Musings: Superpowers Edition

Posted: April 29, 2014 in Comics, Film, Movie News, Music, Rants
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Hold Steady’s 2004 debut, “Almost Killed Me,” is one of my very favorite albums. If you’re not familiar with them, imagine The E Street Band with a Randy Newman-sounding frontman snarkily lamenting about excess partying, but turned up to 11. Check them out if rapid-fire, pop culture-laced barbs over raw rock riffs sound like your cup of joe.

I turn 35 this Sunday. I dig sharing a birthday with Star Wars Day, which has become an actual thing in recent years. The first weekend in May is always busy, and a fun one for geeks. See: ‘Free Comic Book Day’ and the first big summer movie release. Speaking of…

I seriously could not care less about THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 2. I think I’d rather watch THE WINTER SOLDIER for a third time over it. I love Spidey, but nothing I’ve seen from the trailers have me jazzed in the least for this crowded-looking sequel.

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY will do better at the box office than X-MEN: DAYS OF FUTURE PAST… I mean, I really do hope that it will anyway.

I’m glad I stuck with Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Its recent episodes have featured a ton of fallout from CAP 2’s huge Hydra reveal. It’s still far from great, but I think the show gets way more flack than it should. I often remind folks that Arrow didn’t really find its footing til the end of its first season either, and the CW show’s sophomore year has been gangbusters.

It’s become a popular opinion amongst males that FROZEN is overrated, and they are right. I’ve said it since I fist saw it. It’s an average film with two really catchy singalongs. The comic relief snowman was just doing PG Jonah Hill, and the story was weak, a hatchet job of Hans Christian Anderson’s ‘The Snow Queen.’ TANGLED is a superior film in almost every way.

I’m making a big, big change to my comfortable life very soon, and I can’t wait. Stay tuned.

I’d like to buy the world a Coke.
Sorry, check that. I’d like bite this girl while on coke. DON JON is currently streaming on Netflix. You’re welcome.

_________________________________________
Today’s Distractions
Listening: The Hold Steady — “Constructive Summer”
Watching: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, Episode 1

Thoughts? Criticisms? Hit me with 'em!

